Your Daily Affirmation & Morning Inspiration! ✨️🤎

THURSDAY, MAY 9: 

I will be confident in the way I walk, the way I talk, and the way I think. I am special. I will never let other people’s negative opinions dim my shine. 🤎

We hope this story inspires you—read the intro below:

Sneak Peek Of The Story:

Amirah Means fell in love with building and design in her youth, but it wasn’t until she turned to prayer in her adulthood that she realized it was her calling. 

“I’ve always wanted to work with my hands; however, I went to a religious-based school, and they didn’t have many extracurricular programs,” Means tells BrownStyle Magazine about her early days. “During my high school year, my school introduced an engineering program. At the time, I didn’t know much about engineering, but I learned quickly. Our club joined The National Society of Black Engineers and began competing in robotics competitions. I was the mechanical engineer of the team, so I was the person who built the robot. I thoroughly enjoyed it.”

Even with limited access to trades, Means always found herself drawn to hands-on projects. The Texas-based entrepreneur fondly remembers sneaking into her father’s garage as a child to find tools to take her toys apart and put them back together. 

“I’ll never forget hurrying downstairs to put his screwdrivers back when he was looking everywhere to find them. Meanwhile, they were in my toy bin,” Means shares with a chuckle. “As I got older, and the focus became education, I forgot about that part of me.”

Read the full story on BrownStyle Magazine!

****

Have a story you want to tell? 

BrownStyle Magazine is currently looking for personal essays about self-care and wellness routines, soft living, inspirational think-pieces, and more.

Let’s Stay Connected! 

Follow us on Instagram!

Follow us on Facebook!

Follow us on TikTok!

Feel free to forward this to someone you love! 🤗🤗